Fedora Server Front Page Revamp

After working on the Fedora Server front page for a while, I have an update to share! 

This is currently live here on the Fedora website!

The ticket on the Website Design tracker is here.

Graphic on hero area

It was challenging to think of what graphics to use for Server – I wanted to explore a few different options. I liked the idea of potential users working from their home lab or small business. I came up with some abstract options, such as a notebook and pen, that represent the ideas and plans the user might have. Below is that idea visualised:

The Server WG felt the idea was too abstract and wanted a graphic that reads “This is for servers”.

With the last two graphics made for the editions being 3D renders – I thought this would be a great opportunity for another. @ mowest sent me a variety of different images of home servers. I decided to use this one:

And the result was this:  

Placed in the mock-up, it looked like this:

Features for Everyone:

For this section, I got information from @ mowest on GitLab on what the Server working group (WG) would like that section to read. The WG wanted to go for icons / images alongside the features, like the Workstation page has. My teammate Niko was able to pull screenshots for the first two points. For the last three, I created icons following requests from the Server WG

Built by You:

This section appears across all the edition pages and reflects the relevant information / what was available on the docs page for the Fedora Server WG.

Thank you for reading ❤